Code Red, Aunt Flo is coming to visit.


In Britain, some women say they’ve “got the painters in”. In America, it’s “Aunt Flo”.

It took me a while to figure out AF, and when I did it kind of made me go “eeeuw”. For the life of me, I can’t figure out why anyone would think it was less toe-curling than just saying “I’ve got my period”. I’m a very visual person, and Aunt Flo … well… yuk.

I do love a good euphemism though and all of this got me thinking, so I did some digging and came up with some beauties.

Here are my top five, all of them gross or cringe-making in their own way:

Dracula’s teabag

Flying the red flag

Arts and Crafts Week at Panty Camp

Clean up on aisle one

Lady Days

I’m sticking with period. Period.

But knowing what AF means is mandatory in the big wide world of fertility chat rooms that I’m discovering. Acronyms are everything. After surfing around in search of some answers, I found myself thinking, WTF?

How does anyone figure out this stuff?

“TTC” doesn’t take a huge leap of the imagination, but BMS? BFP? FTTA?

That’s “Baby-making sex”, “Big fat positive” and “Fertile thoughts to all”.

I only know this because I looked here: http://www.fertilityplus.org/faq/acronyms.html

Even knowing that APTT = Activated Partial Thromboplastin Time and COH = Controlled Ovarian Hyperstimulation, I’m still pretty much in the dark. I guess you learn the language as you go along, the way I learned to change a tire and replace a fan belt when I got a car.

It makes to sad to think I could one day write a sentence composed of TTC, IUI, IVF, MAI, OHSS etc etc. Those little letters hide a world of pain and perseverance, and my heart goes out to all the women and men who are battling to have a baby.

But for now I am avoiding OD-ing on acronyms. And by that I mean overdose, not ovulatory disfunction.

http://www.fertilityplus.org/faq/acronyms.html

2 thoughts on “Code Red, Aunt Flo is coming to visit.

  1. Love it! 🙂 The AF acronym has always kind of made me go “eeeuw” too! I called by from twitter and have just been reading your posts. Completely understand your sense of baby-making urgency. I have one baby (now a 4yr old) by IVF and am trying for another IVF miracle. I’ll be 39yrs later this year and am counting the months left until 40yrs. I’m due to start an IVF cycle this month and worried that it may be delayed for another month, when every month counts now. My very best wishes to you. 🙂

    • Hi sunnymama,

      Congrats on your four year old and all the best for this coming IVF cycle. It’s such a nervewracking business, and I don’t even know the half of it yet. But reading messages like yours, and your blog and twitter posts, gives me hope!

Leave a Reply

